• Webmaster Elisha

Art, writing contest winners

The Woodford County Conservation District sponsored the 2015 Conservation Writing Contest, designed for Woodford County students, grades, 6-12, and the Jim Claypool Conservation Art Contest for students K-5 was conducted in all Woodford County public, private and home schools in November. The theme for the 2015 contests was “The Wild Side of Kentucky.” The district received 580 art entries from Northside School, Southside School, Huntertown School, and Woodford County home schools. Nineteen writing entries were from the Woodford County Middle School and the Woodford County High School. A total of 599 art/writing entries were received and were judged by a team of theme-qualified judges at the Agriculture Resource Building on Dec. 3. Following are the results of this judging. Northside School Kindergarten: first place, Addison Smith; second place, Mabry Yost; third place, Hannah Chandler. Grade 1: first place, Evie August; second place, Lily Mar; third place, Haylee Hogan. Grade 2: first place, Maddie Davenport; second place, Taylor Blevins; third place, Kylie Cummins. Grade 3: first place, Mayala Morton; second place, Eza Westlund Gonzales; third place, Susan Murphy. Grade 4: first place, Haley Brown; second place, Emma Mulvihill; third place, Grace Addams. Grade 5: first place, Cameron Gates; second place, Leah Golyatov; third place, Sarah Morton. School winner: Cameron Gates, Grade 5. Southside School Grade 2: first place, Carson Bugg; second place, Gissel Olivos; third place, Jed Padgett. Grade 4: first place, Hannah Hash; second place, Annabelle Crume; third place, Sydney Walton. School winner: Hannah Hash, Grade 4. Huntertown School Kindergarten: first place, Alyssa Hardin; second place, Mason Peterson; third place, Jackson Irvin. Grade 1: first place, Kinsey Forry. Grade 2: first place, Gabrielle Gampper; second place, Kimberlyn Carrazro; third place, Katia Havvla. Grade 3: first place, Jacob Turner; second place, Eli Carmicle; third place, Cooper Ford. Grade 4: first place, Ashlynn Gamppes; second place, Peyton Whitaker; third place, Taylor Penn. Grade 5: first place, Meghan Mundell; second place, Samantha Padgett; third place, Chloe Davis. School winner: Gabrielle Gamper, Grade 2. Home school: first place, Elizabeth Vanzant; second place, Josiah Self; third place, Cora Self. School winner: Elizabeth Vanzant. WCMS Grade 7 and 8: first place, Christian Bishop; second place, Joshua Zeefe; third place, Sophia Wingo. School winner: Christian Bishop, Grade 8. WCHS Grade 9: first place, Madeline Gatewood; second place, Alexander Vanev; third place, Sissy Spasova. School winner: Madeline Gatewood, Grade 9. Home school: grade 6: first place and home school winner, Wesley Self. Art Division I: grades K-3 winner, Maddie Davenport, Northside, Grade 2. Art Division I: runner-up, Gabrielle Gampper, Huntertown, Grade 2. Art Division II: Grades 4 and 5 winner, Cameron Gates, Northside, Grade 5. Art Division II: runner-up, Leah Golyatov, Northside, Grade 5. Overall Woodford County Art winner: Cameron Gates, Northside School, Grade 5. Runner-up county art winner, Hannah Hash, Southside School, Grade 4. Overall Woodford County Writing winner: Madeline Gatewood, WCHS, Grade 9: Runner-up writing winner, Alexander Vanev, WCHS, Grade 9. All participants will receive a certificate of participation from the Woodford County Conservation District, with all winners, their parents and teachers invited to the district’s annual Spring Fling awards event to receive their awards. The Woodford County Conservation District submits the overall art and writing county winners to the Kentucky Division of Conservation in Frankfort for judging. State winners will be notified in early 2016.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Permits allowing event venues, private camp approved

Conditional-use permits allowing event venues on Fords Mill Road and a private camp on Lower Clifton Road were both unanimously approved by the Versailles-Midway-Woodford County Board of Adjustment (B

© 2016 by The Woodford Sun. Proudly created by Charismatic Media