• Rick Capone, Sports Editor

WCHS girls’ basketball team announces 2015-16 awards

THE 2015-16 WCHS girls' basketball team award winners, left, posed for a photo after their banquet on Monday, March 14. The award winners shown are, from left, Caitlin Ferguson, Erica Hysell, Sydney Fugate, Kassie Cook, Peyton Rose, Abby Moffett and Delaney Enlow. Moffett, right, along with Enlow, was named Rookie of the Year. (Photo submitted)

The Woodford County High School girls’ basketball team hosted its season-ending banquet at the high school on Monday, March 14, to celebrate its final season all together one last time. The very young Lady Jackets’ team finished their 2015-16 season with a 7-23 overall record, a 3-11 region record and a 1-6 district record. They concluded the season in the opening round of the 41st District Tournament at the Frankfort Civic Center on Wednesday, Feb. 27, where they lost to Western Hills in a very close game, 68-66. Woodford loses only three seniors this year, Caitlin Ferguson, Sydney Fugate and Erica Hysell, so it will return almost its entire lineup next season with young players who have gained a year of playing experience. Following the meal at the banquet, Woodford head coach Jay Lucas announced this year’s award winners. The 2015-16 Lady Jacket award winners are: • Highest Field Goal Pct.: Delaney Enlow (57 percent) • Highest Free Throw Pct.: Peyton Rose (74 percent) • Highest 3-Point Pct.: Caitlin Ferguson (40 percent) • Most 3-Pointers Completed: Caitlin Ferguson (88) • Most Rebounds: Delaney Enlow (316) • Most Assists: Peyton Rose (120) • Most Steals: Peyton Rose (63) • Most Deflections: Delaney Enlow (196) • Most Blocked Shots: Delaney Enlow (101) • 110% Award: Peyton Rose • Best Defense Award: Erica Hysell • Rookies of the Year: Delaney Enlow and Abby Moffett • Team MVP: Caitlin Ferguson • Captain’s Award: Caitlin Ferguson, Sydney Fugate and Erica Hysell • Highest Academics: Kassie Cook

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pisgah Presbyterian

Worship continues at 10 a.m. outside, weather permitting. Communion will be celebrated this week. The following students were awarded with scholarships: Lily Broadbent, Brooke Cissel, Alli Johnson, Au

Midway Baptist Church

Midway Baptist is meeting in person and on Facebook live every Sunday at 11 a.m. Follow the church’s Facebook page for other announcements and upcoming events.

Clover Bottom Baptist

While keeping with the current CDC guidelines, Clover Bottom Baptist has returned to all in-person services. The current Sunday schedule includes morning worship at 11 and an evening service at 6. We