• Special to The Sun

BGADD has annual meeting

The Bluegrass Area Development District recently held its annual meeting to select officers and committee members for 2017. Versailles Mayor Brian Traugott was elected as treasurer and will serve on the executive board of the organization. Serving from Woodford County on the board of directors are Judge-Executive John Coyle, Mike Coleman, and the Rev. Floyd Greene. Woodford County is well-represented on the advisory committees that deal with specific areas of policy. Traugott will serve as chair of the Development Advisory Committee with John Soper also serving as a member. Serving from Woodford on the Homeland Security Advisory Committee are Emergency Management Director Drew Chandler and Coyle. The Rev. Marcus Lynn will serve on the Human Services Advisory Committee and Libby Jones and Paul Simmons serve on the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Advisory Committee. Woodford County Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Don Vizi is the representative on the Tourism, Historic Preservation & Recreation Advisory Committee. The Bluegrass Area Development District brings together elected officials and residents in the 17 county Bluegrass Region together to focus on regional governance. The organization provides essential services in the areas of aging and independent living, workforce development, water and sewer infrastructure, a regional approach to transportation projects, and community development and planning services. In addition, staff members assist local governments with grant writing and other professional services.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Permits allowing event venues, private camp approved

Conditional-use permits allowing event venues on Fords Mill Road and a private camp on Lower Clifton Road were both unanimously approved by the Versailles-Midway-Woodford County Board of Adjustment (B

© 2016 by The Woodford Sun. Proudly created by Charismatic Media