• Bill Caine, Woodford Sun Staff

Team Moss wins Sexton Cup

TEAM MOSS won the Sexton Cup. The event was played Sept. 16 and 17 at Moss Hill Golf Course.  (Photo by Bill Caine)

The third annual Sexton Cup was awarded on Sunday, Sept. 17, at Moss Hill Golf Course. Team Moss was the winner by a score of 30-22. The annual event started more than 20 years ago as the Woodford Cup, but was changed to honor Hargis and Sandra Sexton and their commitment to Moss Hill. The event is played in a Ryder Cup format where the club champion and senior club champion are the captains. A draft took place, and team members were chosen by handicap until each team was full. On the first day, the ladies played an 18-hole scramble format, while the men played a nine-hole scramble, followed by a nine-hole alternate shot. Day two featured a match play for all participants. Team Moss members were Pam Nell, Audrey Butler, Cathy Weil, Pat Smejkyl, Teela Watts, Shanny Spalding, Teena Freibert, Mary Lee Gillis, Chris Franklin, Mary Ann Mhyre, Joe Barrows, Rocky Vance, Dave Burke, Dennis Benton, Wayne Stockton, Malven Johnson, Tyler Marshall, J.D. Gould, John O'Brien, Troy Gray, Chad Egbert, Taylor West, Hayden Barrows, Ernie Hendricks, Jack May, Scott Anderson.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pisgah Presbyterian

Susan Bradish will be the supply minister this Sunday while Rev. McIntyre is on retreat. Pisgah college scholarship applications are due June 30. The July 4 service will feature The Kentucky Bourbon T