• Webmaster Elisha

From Our Files

10 Years Ago

May 22, 2008

As expected, Sen. Hillary Clinton easily defeated Sen. Barack Obama Tuesday in Kentucky’s presidential preference primary, despite Obama’s close proximity to taking the overall Democratic nomination for President of the United States.

With the closing of Cable’s Home Furnishings and Appliances in the Woodford Plaza, a nearly 58-year business career for owner Kenton Cable came to an end.

Doris Leigh’s 42-plus-year tenure at the county Property Valuation Administration office ended Friday, May 30, 2008.

The Woodford County Historical Society has compiled and published a new book which contains abstracts of obituaries and death notices from Woodford County newspapers through 1910.

The Woodford County Middle School girls’ track and field team accomplished a historic feat at the KTCCCA Middle School State Championships when Woodford became the first school in the history of junior high track to capture consecutive state titles.

The Woodford County Middle School girls’ soccer team capped another outstanding season with a 2-1 win over rival West Jessamine to claim its first Bluegrass Middle School Conference Tournament championship since 1999.

Woodford county Senior, Curt Strange, signed a letter of intent to continue his football career at Union College.

The Bluegrass Soccer Club U-9 boys’ team was the runner-up in the Eurosport 2008 Tournament, held in Owensboro.

25 Years Ago

May 27, 1993

Dr. Frank Watts won the Democratic nomination for county judge-executive Tuesday, defeating Dr. Joe D. Gormley, Carl P. Rollins, and Jim Nutter. Dr. Watts will face former Judge Executive Jenny Given in the fall. Also victorious for countywide offices were Democrats Alan George for county attorney, Gary Gilkison for jailer, and Steve Ward for reelection as coroner.

Democratic magistrate nominations were won by incumbents Marlin Mitchell (Dist. l), Dick Alcoke (Dist. 3), Lewis "Buddy" McDannold (Dist. 4), and Tommy Turner (Dist. 5). Also nominated were Charles "Bones" Webber (Dist. 2), Margaret Lewis (Dist. 6), and C. D. Wilson Jr. (Dist. 8). District 7 Democratic incumbent Donald Schmidt and District 6 Republican incumbent John Humkey did not face primary opposition.

Owen Roberts will become the Versailles City Council's only new member as a result of Tuesday's vote. Reelected were Luther Bland, Phil House, Roy Benson, Henry Witten, and Geoffrey Reid.

Woodford County High School's senior class valedictorian is Crystal Bond. Salutatorians are Linda Mitchell and Lionell Smith. A class of 221 will graduate May 28.

Julye Adams of Versailles was named to the spring semester dean's list at Lindsey Wilson College and Margaret Ann Borders was on the University of Kentucky's dean's list.

Sarah C. Kennedy of WCHS has received an academic scholarship from Xavier University.

Freshman Bradley Herrera has become the first WCHS tennis player ever to win the Lexington Regional Singles championship.

40 Years Ago

May 25, 1978

State Sen. Tom Easterly of Frankfort upset three-term Congressman John B. Breckinridge in the Sixth District Democratic primary Tuesday. Republican candidate Mary Louise Foust had no opposition in the primary. In the U. S. Senate primary, incumbent Walter "Dee" Huddleston won easily over three political unknowns. The state's Republicans picked Louie Guenthner Jr. to challenge Huddleston.

Dr. Ben F. Roach of Midway has been presented a special award by the Ephraim McDowell Community Cancer Network for "his dedication and service to the people of the Commonwealth" in the network's efforts to control cancer.

Carla Fujii was the winner of the Freshman Cup at Woodford County High School's undergraduate awards program. Chris Whitley was honored for having the highest score at WCHS in the National Math Exam.

Karen Redden of Versailles has been inducted into the Murray State University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, a national scholastic honor society in business administration.

Career Day prize winners at Simmons Elementary School were Eddie Tucker, Joe Higgins, Yolanda Douglas, Jill Hedges, Vicki Craig, and James Crawford.

Boy Scout Troop 1784 members receiving Arrow of Light awards Sunday were Stephen Potter, Jeffrey Evitts, Todd Spears, David Schmidt, Don Schmidt, Mike Meadows, Robbie Huffman, Johnny Hall, and Johnny Christopher.

D. C. Anderson of Versailles was the recipient of a Distinguished Alumnus award given by Campbellsville College during graduation exercises May 14.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All