• Webmaster Elisha

Students from Woodford County named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

Twenty-one recent high school graduates from Woodford County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Local scholars are:

Woodford County High School: Seth Allen, Jared Christian, Kassie Cook, Amanda Cooper, Makayla Devore, Samuel Eagen, Sophie Edelen, Virginia Hallman, Chayton Hayes, Hannah Iglehart, Ashton Moore, Sarah Potts, Turner Reynolds, Christine Slover, Lauren Smiley.

Craft Academy for Excellence: McKenna Jobe, Gloria Mullins.

Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science: Grayson Fuller.

Lexington Catholic High School: Spencer Kriss.

Sayre High School: Edward Morris, Catherine Tew.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit www.kheaa.com; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, Ky. 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.

KHEAA also disburses Advantage Education Loans, the state’s only non-profit private education loan. For more information, visitwww.advantageeducationloan.com.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Permits allowing event venues, private camp approved

Conditional-use permits allowing event venues on Fords Mill Road and a private camp on Lower Clifton Road were both unanimously approved by the Versailles-Midway-Woodford County Board of Adjustment (B

© 2016 by The Woodford Sun. Proudly created by Charismatic Media